Happy Birthday Monster Legends!

So why start a new blog like this today. Well, as pointed out over at the wonderful The Horrors Of It All blog (an essential visit for anyone who loves horror comics) today is the birthday of Baron Frankenstein himself, Peter Cushing. Cushing is obviously a legend and my favourite incarnation of the monster maker – even if, of course, the least like Mary Shelley’s own characterisation .

What’s more tomorrow is the birthday of two other masters of the macabre, Christopher Lee and Vincent Price. It’s also my wedding anniversary but I promise you that wasn’t the reason that we chose the date. Honest. (It really isn’t. My long-suffering wife would kill me to suggest otherwise. The date was actually chosen not to clash with the League One play-off finals but that’s another story).

Anyway, I only wish they still made Walls Dracula lollies as I would be sucking on one tomorrow to celebrate these three giants of monster moviedom. So Mr Lee, I hope you have a wonderful day tomorrow and Messrs Cushing and Price, I hope that wherever you are, you’re raising a glass together in celebration. Happy Birthday from Monster Madness.

Leave a Reply

